Skip to main content
I love 12yo's school so much. They are *brilliant* with her.
- Parent
Follow us on TwitterFollow us on FacebookContact Us
Home | Post16 | Courses | Children's Care, Learning & Development |

Children's Care, Learning & Development

Children's Care, Learning & Development

What will I learn?

The BTEC Firsts in Children’s Care, Learning and Development are related to the National Occupational Standards in Children’s Care, Learning and Development and provide underpinning knowledge for these standards.

The BTEC First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development is available to learners aged 16 and over. In order to fulfil the requirements of the Diploma, learners need to complete a total of at least 300 work placement hours. These work placement hours will enable learners to gain more experience and insight into the sector, and therefore learners who successfully complete the course should be able to progress to employment in the sector, in a supervised role.

These qualifications contribute to the quality and coherence of national provision in this sector. They provide an alternative route to the academic and vocational GCSE provision, offering learners the opportunity to experience the children’s care, learning and development sector. The qualifications will assist in the development of a range of generic and transferable skills, and potentially inform career or further education decisions.

Further course content:

The Edexcel Level 2 BTEC First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development consists of five core units plus one specialist unit that provide for a combined total of 360 guided learning hours (GLH) for the completed qualification.
Core Units

  1. Understanding Children’s Development
  2. Keeping Children Safe 
  3. Communication with Children and Adults
  4. Preparing and Maintaining Environments for Child Care 
  5. Professional Development, Roles and Responsibilities in Child Care

Specialist units (choice of one)

  • Supporting Children’s Play and Learning
  • The Development and Care of Babies and Young Children Under Three Years
  • Providing Support for Children with Disabilities or Special Educational Needs

All units are internally assessed by coursework portfolios. Internal assessment allows you to develop a wider range of skills and provide evidence towards meeting the unit assessment criteria.

The qualification is graded at Pass, Merit or Distinction.

What can I do next?

Progression could also be to further study, such as the BTEC Nationals in Early Years/Children’s Care, Learning and Development or the Edexcel Level 2 or 3 NVQs in Children’s Care, Learning and Development.


 Level 2
Pearson BTEC Level 2 First Diploma in Children’s Care, Learning and Development (Technical Certificate)
Entry Requirements:
A minimum of 3 Grade D and 3 Grade E graded GCSEs

Ken Stimpson Community School
Staniland Way
(Sat Nav users: PE4 6WR)